Witchy Blog Award

Yay I won an award! I was named by Anne from The Den and Spanish Moss from Thicket of a Witch as a recipient of the Witcy Blog Award. So thanks very much to those two individuals who’s blogs I enjoy reading very much myself. It’s honestly an honor to receive such from ones peers who I hold in high esteem.

The Rules:
Post the award logo within your blog post
Thank the blogger who passed the award to you
Answer the seven questions below
Nominate five Wiccan/Pagan bloggers (If you don’t know five other Wiccan bloggers, nominate as many as you can)
Notify your nominees of their pending award
Give a short description of the blog/blogger and why you nominated them
Stop by Ayslyn’s Corner  and Book of Shadows to add your name to the list of bloggers awarded
You may customize the questions as long as they are still Wiccan- and Pagan-related
Ok the Questions:
How did you “discover” Wicca/witchcraft?

 

Like most through books. I first discovered my first real magic book in the form of a Hoodoo book in my early teens, followed up closely by DMK’s Modern Magic, and then Wicca in 90’s.

 

Do you grow herbs?

 

A few, though I it hasn’t been a huge priority for me. I’m hoping to grow more next summer now that we have more outdoor space cleared for it.

 

Are you “in the broom closet”? If not, share your coming out experience.

 

No I’m not. I’m fully out in my family and social circles. I don’t necessarily flaunt it at work because I don’t believe religion should come into play at work, but I’d be surprised if anyone hasn’t figured it out by now given my obviously pagan tattoos, and various sundry obviously magical “stuff” that graces my desk.

 

What tradition do you follow?

 

How much time do you have? Most of my study has been in Revival Druidry. I follow Jason Millers Strategic Sorcery current, and this past year has introduced a new found love of Hermetics/Ceremonial Magic. I tend to see the Chaldean Oracles as an influence on my path as well.  I’ve also been rediscovering my love for the Chaos Current, and incorporate elements of Chaoist philosophy into my work. (you might call this eclectic).

 

Do you consider yourself a witch, Wiccan or Pagan (or maybe something else?)

 

Here’s the million dollar question. I tweeted the other day that I feel most comfortable describing myself as a Witch, and to a certain extent that holds true, but not entirely. I consider myself a Witch in a very Jack Parsons “We are the Witchcraft” kind of way. I also really love the Earthy, primal, low magics. However to be honest I resonate with the Wizard archetype more than that of the Witch. Which is why I still think “Hedge Druid” is the best title I can fit into that doesn’t rub me the wrong way. The reason for this is a) I love me some Revival Druidry. b) Druid to me represents both the wizard archetype, and the primal shamanic magics rolled up in one. The Ovate stream feeds my desire and love for ecstatic-witchy like practices, while the Druid stream feeds my love of high magic. Also, Druidry represents a concept to aspire to. One I fail at consistently, but none the less is the ideal I’d like to achieve. It continutally draws me back every time I walk away from it and won’t let me go. So if I had to pick one all-inclusive title it would still be  just plain Hedge Druid, though I’ll answer to Witch or Mage if called so.

 

How much of witchcraft/Wicca are you able to incorporate into your everyday life?

 

It’s something that touches every aspect of my life. I don’t believe that magic should be something hidden away and only practiced in the ritual chamber. I see Magic as manifest in every aspect of my life.

 

Do you have a familiar? If you do, tell us how you meet him/her and how s/he takes part in your practice (if at all).

 

I have multiple animal spirit companions I work with through their bones. My most “bonded” one would have to raccoon.

 

So here are a few blogs I nominate:

 

The Cacophony of Crows: Her path in trying to feel things out feels similar to my own. I like that she is honest in her struggles and puts it out there in a way that all of us who have been there can relate too.

 

Candlesmoke Chapel: Joseph and Sarah just blow me away with the things that they do. They are truly the real deal (and genuinely nice people to boot)

 

The Druids Well: Snaegl is one of those people that inspire me to become a better Druid. Seriously, she makes it look so effortless and natural even though I know she puts a ton of work into her practice. Whether she knows it or not, she is an inspiration to me and I feel really raises the bar to aspire to.

 

Confessions of an Urban Druid: A Druid who’s gone through many of the same trials I have in regards to Druidry and yet still comes back for more, like myself. I often find myself nodding in agreement with her ideas on Druidry! I greatly enjoy the blog.

Root and Rock: I consider Skylla kind of a kindred soul in terms of the interactions we have.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Witchy Blog Award

  1. Scylla says:

    Why thankyee kindly.

Leave a Reply

