Facing down The Morrigan

Fast on the heels of my “I don’t do Celtic” post, I get this. This is something I’ve been sitting on for awhile and thinking about. For some reason it feels right to share it today. I’m not sure why, but I’m going with the gut feeling.

You see last month, June 3rd 2011, to be exact, I had a dream. Now it’s important to keep in mind this dream was at a time when I was getting about 2 hours of sleep per night, and my dreams were pretty freaky to begin with, as sleep deprived dreams often are. This dream however was a nightmare in the true sense of the word. Describing it, it doesn’t sound scary, but in the dream I felt real fear.

I was running from something, something big and powerful. I kept running from hiding place to hiding place trying to escape it, but it just kept coming, unrelenting. It was like a force of nature, there was no stopping it. At some point I started finding statues of the Morrigan at every hiding place, letting me know she was the one who was hunting me, and she had been there first, anticipating my every move. There was no where to hide, nowhere to escape to.

I finally was cornered in a cave and she found me, standing before me at the entrance of the cave, obscuring the light like a big dark cloud and cutting off my only path of egress. She had a wicked barbed spear, black as obsidian. She skewered me with the spear, right through the shoulder, and pinned me to the ground. I writhed and tried to escape, but there was no escape, she held me firm.

She said:

“All of your other oaths are hereby dissolved. You belong to me now”. Then she twisted the spear just to drive her point home.

The kicker? Hekate was in the cave too, sitting calmly and peacefully, her face not showing any emotion,  just watching.

It was a pretty intense dream. The primary interpretation of course would be that the Morrigan has claimed me and Hekate is in on the deal. After the dream, I did some research on the Morrigan, whom I must admit to knowing next to nothing about, and I really didn’t feel any particular pull to her to tell the truth. Irish mythology holds next to no interest for me (I may have one Irish ancestor that I know of , but that’s it). Quite frankly, I’m happy enough with Hekate thank you! Am I just supposed to drop my current oaths and patron on the basis of a single dream, even one as scary as this? I don’t think so! I chalked it up to “just a dream” and went on my way. But it’s been in the back of my mind ever since, percolating.

I don’t have much a draw to the Morrigan. Besides I don’t do Celtic (beyond Cernunnos), remember?  I mean she seems interesting and all, but not enough to give Hekate up for. Not by a long shot. Still, and this is something I’ve never said publicly, but I have this sneaking fear sometimes that Hekate was meant to serve as initiator for me, pick me up, dust me off, and set me back down on the path. Maybe not necessarily meant to be my primary deity relationship, however much I may want her to be. Also, does one really spurn the Morrigan? That seems to have worked out so well for Cu Chuchlain, right? Also, maybe I’m missing out on something important here? There is something to be said for going places you are uncomfortable spiritually to grow. If you stay right where you are comfortable, with deities and practices who match your comfort level and ability exactly, will you ever grow spiritually or just stay stagnant?

A part of me can see a benefit here. She would probably work better along side my other primary deity relationship, Cernunnos, and I still have a discord between my witch and druid paths that I could see her bringing more into harmony, with her foot in both paths as it were.

I’ve disregarded this dream for awhile, but last night I got, in stark contrast to the violence of the original dream, a gentle reminder from her and a few pokes for good measure. One wonders what the next reminder would be if I ignored this gentle one? I’m not saying I’m dumping Hekate here, not even close! It’s going to take a lot more convincing from both sides for that. I may give the Morrigan a chance though, and start to try to get to know her.

I’m not really sure where to begin though.

This entry was posted in Druidry, The Morrigan and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

45 Responses to Facing down The Morrigan

  1. Sarah Lawless says:

    It sounds pretty real to me, especially since you didn’t seek her out and Hekate has that whole psychopomp-messenger thing going for her. Don’t forget you are allowed to negotiate terms or say no, but if you refuse her you can’t come crawling back to her later – she’s a lady who gets what she wants when she wants it! She’s VERY possessive of her own and would protect you as fiercely as she hunted you. There’s a lot more to her than the dark image most people paint of her. I know a few who work with her and she is definitely a sorceress. Research might sate her …for a little while, lol.

    If the Celtic thing bothers you, modern research and genetic studies have shown that the peoples originally inhabiting Ireland, Scotland, and Wales were not of Celtic ancestry and were of an older people separate from the PIE language group (which includes the Celts) and might be Iberian in origin inhabiting those lands for thousands of years before the Celts even showed up. I’ve found that Scottish and Irish folktales seeming to stem from the Stone Age due to deer herding instead of cattle herding and stone tools instead of metal weapons support these new findings. History’s a crazy thing!

    • Seillean Ioho says:

      Hi Sarah, thanks for commenting. I tend to agree, I think it’s real too. I discounted it at first, mainly because I’m happy where I’m at and don’t want to have to start all over, but now that she’s coming back for “follow-up” I don’t want to wait to see whats next! I’ve heard she can be quite possessive and protective. Sounds like one could have worse allies, eh? I actually think I’ll start including her in my devotions to start off, which I think is one of the best ways to start build a relationship and take it from there. At this point, I think it would be foolish to ignore it much longer.

      I honestly wish I knew what my deal was with the Celtic thing. I think it’s a hold over from my Heathen days where the whole ancestry thing was drilled in. Thanks for the link, I found it interesting. I’m sure we’re actually all a whole mix of everything no matter what we may think ;). History is indeed a crazy thing!

  2. Mist says:

    I agree with Sarah. Dionysos first came to me in my dreams, and while I’m not sure the intensity of fear was quite the same, one of the first dreams he appeared in had him chasing me and being very threatening. I felt distinctly that he might kill me.

    Also, do not discount the dream simply for lack of sleep. Remember that sleep deprivation has been used as a means to visions or altered states across various cultures and time periods. When my twins were newborns and both nursing, I was getting only about 15 minutes of sleep at a time. I was convinced that I was going crazy after I began to hear my deceased mother’s voice coming through the baby monitor, so I can relate. 🙂

    • Seillean Ioho says:

      Hi Mist! You make a good point, and I had thought the same thing actually. Sleep deprivation is great for inducing altered states of consciousness and probably not a coincidence that this happened at that time. Thanks for sharing your experience’s too!

  3. Whilst I generally do not reply to blog posts, I feel like I should make a note herein, as I too have had brushes with the Morrigan.

    Your dream sounds, to me, to be about as real as it gets. My wife has a friend who had similar nightmares, and she’s now an alcoholic to dull her gifts and forget the nightmares. In turn, the Morrigan showed up before me one night, and demanded that I convey a message to the friend in question. That message was clear “She is mine, and she’d best obey.”

    Suffice to say, the lass in question did not pay heed when I conveyed the message with the statement “A very angry Celt goddess is going to come for you. Start researching the pantheon.” Now she lives in a different state then I, and she and her most recent boyfriend were recently in a terrible car wreck. She escaped unscathed, but her boyfriend broke his neck and is now paralyzed. Upon consulting the Morrigan, it was made clear, again, that the boyfriend is Her claim, and more harm will be done if the claimed lass does not listen.

    Whatever you do, be careful. Godspeed, and good luck.

    • Seillean Ioho says:

      Hi Sorcerous Endeavors! Thank you for taking the time in this instance to post. Your experience rings true with a lot of what I heard of her. As Sarah above says, what she wants she gets! Anyway, I appreciate the warning and your telling of the experience. I will indeed take it to heart.

      • You are quite welcome. Sarah is indeed correct in saying that the Morrigan gets what she wants. She has never struck me as being one you’d particularly like to piss off.

  4. sara says:

    What Sarah said about the Morrigan not necessarily being Celtic, and I agree this the real deal. Hekate has been this amazing go-between who introduces you to other deities.

    Something else though… These deities are older than the surviving mythic traditions we know them from. You learned that with Hekate, with Lucifer.. I would wager this is how it works with the Morrigan as well. Matters not your ancestry. I grew poppies for Hekate earlier this summer, but other than growing up fascinated with the Near East, I’ve not got any of that in my ancestry.

    • Seillean Ioho says:

      Hi Sara! Interesting you mentioned that. One of the first things Hekate ever “said” to me was “I don’t understand your insistence that you must have ancestry to connect to us. If you you are human you have all you need to hear me”. Thanks for the reminder 😉 Also I happened upon this post today which seems to support the notion that the dieties are older than their mythology:

      http://senamos.blogspot.com/2011/07/decoding-sacred-language-of-ancestors_13.html

      Thanks for the comment and reminders!

      • I’ve had a very similar experience to this, Seillean. I am, genetically, a mutt (Irish, Scottish, German, Anglo-Saxon, Welsh, Japanese, Algonquin, and several others)…so much so, that I really have no idea what all is actually in my genetic makeup. Even still, I’ve been approached by Lwa such as Papa Legba, or deities such as Pan, Tara, and Kali-Ma.

        While blood is, at times, of some import (per UPG from Oðin), it isn’t necessary, apparently. I always found that to be rather odd, but accepted it, as the older gods really don’t seem to give a damn what pantheon you happen to be comfortable with. If they have a mask within that pantheon, it’d seem that they would approach you wearing that mask to broach the subject, but soon thereafter the mask comes off and you’re left with something that’s a great deal more difficult to define.

        To that end, I’ve noticed that a great many deities seem to know each other. At first, I thought it was just me being a headcase when Old Horny started talking about Mama-Ji, but soon thereafter, it became very clear that there are very distinct relationships between certain Gods/Goddesses, and even those don’t necessarily bow to the boundaries of the pantheon.

  5. Aj / Melia says:

    some will find this absolutely blasphemous, but what if Hekate and Morrigan are the same divinity but they each have something different to teach you? Think of it as a different method of teaching, forcing you to look at something a different way.

    • Aj: That’s an interesting idea that I am not a stranger to, though I have not found it to be true with the Morrigan and Hekate. Hekate is, in the Papyri Graecae Magicae, associated with three deities – each of which appear to be the names of the three faces of the triplicate goddess. This is, specifically, seen in the Prayer to Selene, quoted below:

      “Come to me, o beloved mistress, three-faced
      Selene; kindly hear my sacred chants;
      Night’s ornament, young, bringing light to mortals,
      O child of morn who ride upon the fierce bulls,
      Queen who drive your car on equal course
      With Helios [i.e., moon], who with the triple forms
      Of triple graces dance in revel with
      The stars. You’re justice and the Moira’s threads:
      Klotho and Lachesis and Atropos [the Fates]
      Three-headed, you’re Tisiphone, Megaira,
      Allekto [the Erinyes], many-formed, who arm your hands
      With dreaded, murky lamps, who shake your locks
      Of fearful serpents on your brow, who sound
      The roar of bulls out from your mouths, whose womb
      Is decked out with the scales of creeping things,
      With pois’nous rows of serpents down the back,
      Bound down your backs with horrifying chains
      Night-crier, bull-faced, loving solitude,
      Bull-headed, you have eyes of bulls, the voice
      Of dogs; you hide your forms in shanks of lions,
      Your ankle is wolf-shaped, fierce dogs are dear
      To you, wherefore they call you Hekate,
      Many-named, Mene [Moon], cleaving air just like
      Dart-shooter Artemis, Persephone,
      Shooter of deer, night shining, triple-sounding,
      Triple-headed, triple-voiced Selene
      Triple-pointed, triple-faced, triple-necked,
      And goddess of the triple ways, who hold
      Untiring flaming fire in triple baskets,
      And you who oft frequent the triple way
      And rule the triple decades, unto me
      Who’m calling you be gracious and with kindness
      Give heed, you who protect the spacious world
      At night, before whom daimons quake in fear
      And gods immortal tremble, goddess who
      Exalt men, you of many names, who bear
      Fair offspring, bull-eyed, horned, mother of gods
      And men, and nature, mother of all things,
      For you frequent Olympos, and the broad
      And boundless chasm you traverse. Beginning
      And end are you, and you alone rule all.
      For all things are from you, and in you do
      All things, eternal one, come to their end.”

      Keeing with that theme, I’ve oft found various deities to have different masks that they wear when appearing to humanity. The Egyptians were quite aware of this, and would refer to the gods as neter (singular) or neteru (plural) – one deity could have several neteru to His or Her name, as it were. We see this in Amon, P’tah, Thoth, Banebdjadet, Osiris, and Horus, in particular. If you go back to the older myths on the subject (what little can be found), it is made clear that those neteru are masks of the same God.

      In my experience, people often dismissed the above as the work of the pharoah Akhenaten, who ruled between 1353 BCE – 1336 BCE, give or take a couple of years. The aforementioned beliefs existed long before Akhenaten was able to throw a monkey wrench in the gears.

      I make note of this, not as an affront, but as a way of agreeing with you on the subject that one God may have many masks. I just don’t agree that the Morrigan and Hekate are one and the same. Just my (rather verbose) 2 cents.

      • Aj / Melia says:

        There is a lot to study in that prayer. It has been awhile since I read it. Thank you for reminding me.

        Hekate has also been in another triad not stated there, with Juno and Hebe/Artemis and some (the Orphics ?) associated her with Hera and Rhea as World Soul.

        [shrug] I don’t mesh well with the Celtic Pantheon, so I do not know. I was just throwing out the possibility.

    • Seillean Ioho says:

      AJ, Ah us blasphemers. We must stick together!

      As you know I do think gods wear many different cultural faces. I think your totally on to something with Hekate and Hera! I also think that the Morrigan, Hela, and Danu are probably all the same. My upg tends to think Hekate and Morrigan are different though. They just have different really different energies and whereas I think of Hekate as both Cthonic and ouronic, The Morrigan is pure Cthonic in my experience. Could be wrong though. Who can really know the nature of the Gods?

  6. Snaegl says:

    Aw, geeze, you never do anything by halves, do ya? 😉

  7. Nykti says:

    I definitely know the “don’t get the Celtic” thing. Brighid showed up due to me stumbling on a Mystery of Hers late fall last year, and as far as I know, hasn’t left. Despite me y’know, kicking, whining, not doing stuff, and trying to ignore Her. Then again, the last time I deliberately tried to ignore Her and say “Nope, you’re wrong, Lady!” I spent the next three days having crazy half-dreams, barely staying asleep, and being anxious all the time. I ended up not calming down until I talked it out with a friend and acknowledged that this was /real/. It was less direct than what you got, but still in my face enough that it freaked me out.

    That being said.. I still don’t “get” Celtic! 😄 Much of my ancestry hails from the United Kingdom save for a couple bits (Metis and French), so that’s not an issue. I suppose it’s mostly my distaste for the superficiality that many neo-Pagans can take on that just LATCH ON FOR DEAR LIFE to everything and anything Celtic. I’ve found it helps when I actually look at Celtic cultures for what they really are, separate, distinct, but have similarities. It’s not always Scottish = Irish = Manx = Welsh = British. The Gods of that land had variations from culture to culture, including names of the Gods Themselves, Their festivals, and traditions associated with the Gods. Maybe it’s just my brain, but I find it easier to talk about Scottish and Irish and Manx(ish?) festivals than “Celtic” festivals. Maybe one day I’ll lose that irritation. Heh.

  8. Aynfean says:

    I don’t think we get the luxury of choosing our patron/esses any more than we have the option to choose those in this life who teach us lessons. They hurt, they’re uncomfortable, and looking back we treasure them with every fiber of our being.

    I feel a bit of a connection with your post although I’ve never seen your blog before today because over the last week or so I’ve had the sensation of being “hunted” by the Morrigan. A very distinct feeling that she is who I should be serving. She’s shown up in meditations, dreams, and random conversations.

    Anyways, good luck with your path and I shall be interested to see what comes of it all!

    • Seillean Ioho says:

      Hi Aynfean, thanks for commenting! very interesting that you’ve had the same experience. Best of luck to you as well!

  9. Scylla says:

    A long time ago I had nearly the same dream. If one does a find/replace and changes anything European to distinctly Egyptian.

    Sekhmet did essentially the same to me – the first female divinity I ever tangled with. It left me with little love for coddling mommy-figures.

    And there are days when I wonder exactly who Sekhmet is – and whether or not one might be able to draw some sort of tenuous connection between her, Hela, tM, Hecate, Tiamat… etc. etc. etc.

    • Seillean Ioho says:

      Scylla, that’s very interesting. A long long time ago I used to be Kemetic Orthodox, and Sekhmet was divined as my divine parent. i haven’t worshiped her in a long time, but I’ve always had a personal UPG that she and Hekate may be the same. There are so many similarities between them. Both considered to exist before the gods, ladies in red, the lion thing, association with dragons and flame, even some of their many names are the same. Maybe I’m just reading too much into it, but I personally believe that Sekhmet may be the Egyptian form of Hekate. I’ve even been thinking of writing an article about it for months now…

      • Scylla says:

        Hequet is thought to have also been the Egyptian Hecate (the names have some linkage, and maybe the symbolism of amphibians) … The waters of the Godly are very muddied, and They do Their best to keep it that way.

  10. Jim says:

    Hi, Strictly speaking The Morrigon is not exactly a Celtic Goddess, she is one of the Battle, strife and fertility Goddess of the Tuatha De Danann who although are connected to the Celts now werer not originally, well not until they settled in Ireland as part of Irelands Five Waves of Invasion.

    There are other cultures in and around Europe who mention Goddess who have exactly the same attributes as the Morrigon so I think you might be safe in giving her a chance… (In my opinion any way) but then my Goddess is the Crone Cailleach and like you the horned god Cernunnos.

  11. Druv says:

    I hope you dont mind if i add a few things, i will show you some pictures to make the picture clearer.

    Hecate Picture: http://www.blueroebuck.com/image/Hecate3.jpg

    Kali: http://outerbongolia.org/wp-content/uploads/2009/01/maha_kali2.jpg

    They are the same Goddess. In India, all Gods have 108 names which go up to infinity – basically showing the infinite nature of God.

    Q) Why there are many hands and heads?

    A) power of God is multidimensional, and cannot be experienced through the 5 senses.

    It shows how powerful they really are God is one and many at the same time.

    Kali,Shakti, Tara are few of the 108 names of the same Goddess.

    You see the heads of the evil people in the hand of the Hand of the Goddess?
    Why did she kill those men?

    Let me tell you the story of Kali

    There was a time when a tribe of demonic people massacred another tribe of Peace loving priests for the possessions they had. Goddess Shakti considered them like her own children, and when she saw the atrocity she became dark with anger (she transformed into Kali)- a mothers wraith!

    Her tongue became read and she was furious – she killed every one of the demonic tribe and cut their heads off to make a necklace. She was unstoppable…

    God Shiva saw her fury and knew only one way to stop her.

    He laid down in her path, and as she stepped on him without realizing it – she transformed back because she loved her husband – her fury died. God Shiva stopped Goddess Kali’s wraith.

    • Interesting post, Druv. While I enjoy your research, I will note, from personal experience, that Hecate, the Morrigan, Tara, and Kali-Ma are NOT one in the same deity. I’ve had conversations with the deities in question, and have been able to get a few reasonably straight answers with regard to respective age that may be of use here.

      Before I start, it is worth noting that the following paragraphs consists of information received through gnosis and communication/interaction with the mentioned deities. My girlfriend is a -very- talented vessel that I tend to stick deities into so that I can converse with them. So, having said as much, that is my method of speaking directly to the divinities herein.

      As such, Hecate is somewhere around 32,000 years old, with Mama-ji following in short order (there’s something like a 2,000 year difference between them). Tara, however, is very literally Mama-ji’s “baby Sister”, as She terms it, and is around 4,500 years old. Tara is the daughter of Shiva, as well as His consort, and was more-or-less trained by Mama-Ji at “birth”. I cannot, however, speak to the origin or age of Morrigan, as I do not know.

      It is increasingly clear that Hecate, Mama-ji, and Tara know each other, as They’ve worked in tandem on my behalf a countless number of times. To that end, I’d strongly caution against equating them as being one and the same being, as I know they would take some measure of offense to it.

      That is just my two cents, as I feel obligated to clarify things on Their behalf. They do a great deal to help me out, so its only fair that I should do the same in turn.

      • Druv says:

        Who is this Mama- Ji here ?

        Tara is the daughter of Shiva, as well as His consort, and was more-or-less trained by Mama-Ji at “birth”.

        How can Tara be daughter and consort at the same time? where is the logic here ?

  12. Druv,

    Mama-ji, or Mata-Ji, is one of the affectionate titles for Kali-Ma. I am surprised that you’ve not heard the title, in the past, given your studies.

    Tara is the daughter of Shiva, who shed tears because of mankind’s suffering. From those tears, Tara was born, being of the same essence as her father.

    Soon thereafter,Tara became the consort of Shiva, in an incestuous relationship. Keeping that in mind, one must remember that such practices are only frowned upon in the recent culture of the Western world. In Tantric teachings, Tara becomes a figure representing sexuality in all its facets, and the breaking of such taboos is, in left hand tantra, incredibly important.

    It makes for a very complicated family tree, but, despite its unpopularity, I’d urge you to seek out the deities in question and ask them yourself.

    • Druv says:

      Tara is not the daughter of Shiva, i dont know where you are getting your information from. Stop spreading wrong information.

      Mama-ji in India is used for Uncle, Mata -ji is for mother.

      You are wrong about the fact they are not the same God, it is the multidimensional aspect of one God. Each form has a different work to perform. That is their true reality.

  13. Pingback: The Horned God(s) « The Serpents Wisdom

  14. Ged says:

    I believe that the blood that runs through your veins, and mine, and everyone else’s – is the same. Deity may call to you regardless of your ancestry or blood line. Perhaps, in order to maintain the cosmic balance, your service was traded to the Morrigan. I often envision us mortals as being tossed back and forth between Gods, players in their cosmic game.

    May the Morrigan bless you – and next time, face her down!

    Ged

  15. Vanessa says:

    Hey I just wanted to add for your personal interest that I belong to the Morrigan and one of the first things she did was stab me through with a spear too – it is definately an honour to be speared by her.

    My work with her so far has indicated she is quite jealous and does not like to share offerings/altar space or tools with other deities but that her frightening face is soon turned to a kinder one for those who wholeheartedly accept her as a opatron…her frightenihg face will be turned toward your problems and challenges then.

  16. Pingback: The Phantom Queen « Feral Druidry

  17. Draig says:

    Really enjoyed reading the original post and all the replies 🙂 I love hearing people’s personal direct experience with Deity and find hearing about such experiences a far more valuable resource than dusty old books on the subject. Hope you don’t mind if I share some of my own experiences as well 🙂

    I’ve been fully one of the Lady Morrigan’s now for nearly half a year, although She has been a big part of my life for much longer. She first entered into my life completely out of the blue. I was being initiated into the Bardic Grove of my Druid Order and one of the people who took part in the ritual was one of her High Priestesses. She gifted me a Crows Foot as a blessing from the Morrigan – this marked the start of my connection with Her.

    At the time I didn’t know much about the Morrigan, only that She was a Death Goddess. So that was what I first came to Her as. The years preceding her coming into my life had been filled with a lot of death, I had friends die from everything from heroin overdoses to suicide bomb attacks. There was allot of grief I hadn’t dealt with and the Lady Morrigan helped me no end.

    However, She seemed to hang around and started taking a direct interest in my love life. This confused me to put it bluntly – why would a Death Goddess take so much interest in such a thing? It was only after hearing a lecture given by Ronald Hutton that I learned of her fertility dual aspect.

    The Lady has now become my patron. Before Her, I worked with the Northern Tradition pantheon mainly, with Lord Tyr acting as my Divine Initiator into the Warrior Spiritual Path.

    You see I’m an environmental activist (amongst other things) and regularly live on protest camps, take part in big civil disobediences and direct actions. I’m a warrior. I’m Her warrior. If there’s one thing the Morrigan Favours it’s the brave. As I say to anyone who follows a warrior deity, if you want to make them really, really, really happy with you -stand up and fight for something you believe in! Put your life and liberty on the line and the Gods will smile on you daily. The Lady Morrigan is no different. Offer Her bravery, adrenaline, blood, sweat and tears and She will be happy.

    I have never had any problems with the Morrigan (although who knows what the future may bring), unlike with other Deities who have kicked the crap out of me for various reasons. She has always struck me as being gentile and deeply, deeply understanding of the mortals who are loyal to Her. The only time She has ever scared me was when She claimed me as Her own – and yes, it started in a dream 🙂

    The bit you mentioned about Her being like a cloud and blotting out all light really struck a chord. I won’t go into too much detail about this dream, but in it She came to get me from my childhood house and was outside like a mighty electrical storm blotting out the night-time sky completely. As the lightning flashed, the silhouette of a raven or a robed woman would be revealed at my door, sometimes both at once. She was beating on my door, trying to get in, but for various reasons I wasn’t able to let Her in and I knew if I didn’t, then there would be hell to pay.

    To mark my connection with Her, to let Her in so to speak, I undertook a pilgrimage to a Beltain Festival the next day. I travelled from an organic farm I’d been working on in West Wales to the festival site in Oxfordshire (I live in the UK). The Lady challenged me every step of the way, causing me to miss buses, endure cancelled trains and storms and ultimately miss a lift resulting in me having to pretty much walk from Swindon to the festival Site (and get lost along the way). But I did it, even if I did get there at around one or two o’clock in the morning. The moment I walked onto the festival field, I knew She’d accepted me as Hers.

    This is why I love the Lady Morrigan. Marking my connection to Her wasn’t about some whimsical, mentally perceived spiritual abstraction; it was directly and physically experiential in nature. She laid down a challenge for me and like hell did I give up! Perhaps She’s different with other people, but this is how She is with me.

    I could talk about the Lady Morrigan all day, but I shall stop here. Pardon for this being so long. Whenever I went to edit it down I got the distinct feeling She wanted me to say all this. Thank you for reading this far if you have. Blessings be upon you and stay strong! 🙂

    • Rick Derks says:

      Draig, thank you so much for taking the time to write your story. I actually greatly enjoyed reading it and found it very helpful. I love hearing personal experiances with the gods like this one, it’s one of my favorite things. The dedication you show her is evident in your words. It sounds like you do her much honor with your actions.

      It’s interesting and somewhat comofrting to me to hear the similiarities between your story and my own. Again my thanks!

    • Janell says:

      I think that she is calling me and has been for years now. I have no idea where to start. I have no magical background……HELP!

  18. Jenny says:

    wow, I stumbled across this whilst researching the Morrigan and I just wanted to say thank you. I’m completely new to this, having only started talking about it with a friend in June. I too experienced a dream of Morrgian: I’d been maybe researching for a month at this point, and was focusing on Danu and Heckate – Morrigan hadn’t even crossed my thought path. Then one night I had a dream where I was surround by crows flying so fast and tight that they were all I could see. Suddenly an old woman appeared before me, standing with me within the crows, all I really remember of her was wizened tanned skin and grey stormy eyes but the power that was in that dream was really frightening. It didn’t threaten me at all, but it was awesome. In the dream she said follow me and I will give you power. The power in that dream was so incredible I was frightened that it was too much. Suddenly I woke up and as I did I heard the word ‘Morrigan’ so loudly in my head I almost said it aloud. I tired to put it out if my head but couldn’t until later that day whilst sitting alone I said ‘Morrigan’ and it felt like the world had just picked it’s ears to listen. I said I’d follow her, but only not just her, as I was still researching and felt that my pantheon wasn’t yet complete. I felt her agree but she didn’t seem best pleased.

    Thing is now it all seems to have gone quiet. Sometimes I dream that I am helping her help the dying pass on peacefully but mostly it’s quiet. So I’m trying to do more research, but aside from my friend with whom I chat to, I’m alone. Can anyone help direct me?

    sorry…a rather long post

  19. Pingback: Alban Arthan 2011 (Winter Solstice) « Feral Druidry

  20. Rachel W. says:

    I stumbled upon this blog quite suddenly, and I’m very glad I did. It sounds like Morrigan does want you, and I know how persistent she can be since she is my own patron Goddess. From my own experience with her she’s not as terrifying as your dream made her out to be, yes she can be fierce in her acquisition of you but once you are hers she is very protective and is keen on helping you through your rough patches of life. She’s helped me through the multiple rough patches of my life, including the death of five close friends and relatives, when you look at those facts it seems almost fitting that I am hers. But, my first encounters with her began at a very early age, even before I knew what Paganism was. When I was a child, after my grandfather had died, I would often dream of a woman all in black who would come to me at night and would gently soothe me telling me that death is but a phase, a transition. After a few months the dreams came less and less until they faded away but one aspect remained, I had a curious attachment to crows. They began to appear everywhere, in large groups, sitting outside my window, just…everywhere in a town where they were not common. When they did appear they would caw constantly and as a child I swore they talked to me. Looking back later on, I just passed this up to childish fantasy but now I’m not too certain, I like to think it was Morrigan reminding me of her claim. Well, years past and we moved to a different city and the crows and woman in black became a distant memory, until I finally decided on my path towards Paganism. After months of being perfectly content with just a universal, “Goddess” I found myself being drawn to sites proclaiming that you do not pick a patron rather they pick you. During this time I found myself picking up more and more books and movies on Arthurian legends, when I didn’t even like the legends to begin with! But as I read and watched the character of Morgana, Morgan Le fey (all aspects of Morrigan) jumped out at me. While this happened ravens began to follow me and call to me. Finally, close to Samhain Morrigan entered my dreams again where she told me that I was hers, it was not a question but a statement. Over the next few weeks I tried to ignore the dream because I was afraid of what I had found in my research but the ravens began to increase, the dreams became even more vivid with a more commanding Morrigan and I was anxious all the time. I mean, jumping out of my skin kind of anxious, I don’t know why, but I couldn’t sit still. When I questioned her about this she told me quite bluntly in my dreams that I needed to make a decision. Finally I said, “I will be yours Morrigan if you give me a sign.” Immediately out of nowhere a raven swooped down, mere inches from my face and that night I dreamt of her welcoming me to her. I have found myself at peace these past months since I dedicated myself to her, she comforts me when I need comfort (like when a very close friend passed recently) and gives me a prod when she wants me to get something done. Overall, she is compassionate and fiercely protective but she will challenge you and push you out of your comfort zone. Believe me, I have been challenged much over my lifetime but after each challenge she will be there to celebrate your victory. I hope this helped in some way, just a different experience to compare your own to.

  21. Stormcrow says:

    I read through most of the posts, and at first I thought about not posting on this site. I’m still relatively knew to the craft in all honesty, even though I’ve been studying for a year. However, The Morrigan is the goddess I work with at this point in time, and it seemed fitting to share a story or two of mine.

    I was receiving my rogue rite at Ostara this year, from a group that I no longer go to, for various reasons. I had just come into contact with The Morrigan not long before. When we reached the Castle (The home of the High Priestess/Priest. The High Priest literally built the outside to look like a castle..It’s pretty amazing.) I got out and we had the meet and greet. Then, we went to the circle and had the opening ceremony. After a little while, we closed it down and went to eat, except me. I had to fast during this entire time. I was told to go to the Cernunnos area by the High Priest to go relax, meditate, and essentially get my thoughts straight for my up and coming rite very soon. So, I went down there, and it was pretty damn crazy what happened next. As I got back there, and was seated on the ground, I kept hearing a whoosh sound. I thought…Maybe it was the wind. I ignored it, and tried to go back into my meditation. Well..It kept getting louder. I finally looked up, and there were about 50-100 blackbirds doing a circle above me, before diving into the trees all around me. What the hell is going on here? This is crazy…Until I got thumped in the head by Morrigan. I felt fairly stupid..I should’ve known. Anyways, this kept happening over and over..Pretty sure there were close to about 500 black birds in those trees around me that night. In the end, now that I think back at it every now and then, it was a thrilling experience, but at the same time I know that I was protected that night just in case anything went wrong for any reason.

    As some has said above, she is a jealous goddess. She gets what she wants, but at the same time, she protects just as well as she hunts (I know someone used this above, but don’t remember who it was.) I actually followed Hekate, before Morrigan came in, and it seemed like Hekate sort of took a backseat or just kinda left me alone. Still confused about it, but I’m sure it’ll all make sense eventually. But, she just showed up and claimed me…Unless it was in a dream I don’t remember, I don’t believe I was ever speared through lol.

    • Seillean says:

      Stormcrow, thank you very much for taking the time to write and relate your story. I greatly enjoyed reading it and found it to be quite a powerful experience from the telling of it. I for one, and glad you decided to comment on it. My best to you and thanks.

  22. Pingback: The Call of the Morrigan: Surrender | The Crossroads Companion

  23. CarnelianOwl says:

    Despite my own heritage (Irish, Irish and more Irish), I’d always shied away from the (crazily confusing) Celtic Pantheon. When I met the Morrigan, well, let’s just say that while she was quite gentle with me, she was decidedly insistent. The book that has been absolutely invaluable to me is “Celtic Lore and Spellcraft of the Dark Goddess, Invoking the Morrigan”, by Stephanie Woodfield. It’s informative and, rare among texts about Celtic mythology, pragmatically organized and makes for logical reading.

    If I were to add another 2 cents – I’d suggest that fear was used as a tool to get your attention. While she deserves, requires and will certainly *get* respect, I don’t think she actually wants you to fear her. My guess is that she knew that breaking through your resistance to a Celtic (anything) was going to take a big gun, or spear, if you will. Good luck!

  24. priestessavalonrainsong says:

    I belong to The Morrigan. Earlier in my path I had a few crisis of faith, so to say, and tried to leave all of paganism behind. Although my words spoke of disowning the gods and paganism, I do not believe my heart was in it. Apparently, The Morrigan didn’t believe it, either, because she never abandoned me. She would keep prodding me, popping up places and sending me little signs. Sure, when I came back (more than once, btw), I was contrite and had to make apologies… but she took me back, and was not unkind to me. She is far more loving, forgiving and loyal than many people think. She isn’t a warm and fuzzy goddess by any means, but she also isn’t strictly death metal and bloodshed, either. She is intimidating, for sure, but I have learned to no longer be afraid of her. I love her.

  25. priestessavalonrainsong says:

    Oh, and one more thing. Your post originally helped me when I was trying to figure out if The Morrigan wanted me. Thanks for that.

Leave a Reply

