PBP: Conjuration

I mentioned a few posts ago that I’ve been inexplicably drawn to Hermetics and ritual magic as of late. I’ve got to say it’s really been “doing it” for me. The itch is still scratched. I’ve been taking RO’s Black Work course, which deals heavily with conjuration and magical evocation. This is one of the main reasons I was drawn to it, because I’d like to start doing more of this kind of work and it seemed like a great place to learn. Basically I want to strengthen my “spirit contact muscles”. However, I’m getting much much more out of it than just that, but more on that later.

The system that is used is from his A Modern Angelic Grimiore, which I had the pleasure of purchasing about a year ago actually. The text deals mostly with contacting angels, but it also presents a pretty much self contained system to evoke anything, including the Genus Loci, which I have inadvertently experimented with. I have to say at the outset here though that I’m a complete novice at this kind of thing. It’s brand new to me. I did some experimentation with the Goetia as a teenager (who didn’t), but beyond that conjuration and evocation is a new bag for me.

The tools detailed in A Modern Angelic Grimiore that are necessary for the work are the table of practice, an ebony wand, and some sort of scrying device. I decided to go classic and use a quartz crystal ball. Here are my tools pictured below that I made/procured.

Table of practice

ToP with ebony wand and crystal

I wood burned the table of practice based off the illustrations in the ebook. I didn’t like the first one I did so I re-did it and this one turned out much better. I’ve noticed it has some “peculiar” properties. For the first week or so being near it made me dizzy. Literally. The air seemed to swarm around it, like heat waves. It would jump around and appear to be all over the altar. I’ll assume that means I did it right. Now however I appear to be “used to it”.

The wand is made of ebony. I actually already had an ebony wand, so that was perfect. I used that and painted the god names on with gold leaf. It looks like crap, but what are you gonna do? It’s done now and I can’t change it. It still appears to work.

The crystal is a smallish real quartz crystal ball (no lead crystal or glass here)! I wanted to go traditional on this.

Altar set up for my first conjuration

I did my first conjuration this past weekend. I did not know what to expect, if anything. Scrying has never been my strong point (I’ve only ever used a black mirror though).  I evoked the Archangel Gabriel. I was surprised at how well it worked! The whole apparatus (ball and table) lit up with white light that was very visible to me. I don’t know if this was an astral effect, or visible light but to me I could see it plain as day. Consider me impressed! I then saw a face super-imposed in the crystal right away. I’ve since used it to communicate with a genus loci spirit as well, with similar results.

The image of Gabriel that appeared did not look at all like I was expecting. While I intellectually understand that angels are not all cherubic and winged, I was not prepared for how he presented himself. What I got looked kind of… alien actually <shrug>. Again, my expectations where broken.

What struck me about these experiences was how concrete the visuals were. I was expecting something wispy, or half imagined. What I got was solid enough to the point that I could leave and go get my sketch pad and it was still there. I could look away and start sketching and look back and it would still be there just like I was sketching a physical object. This I was not expecting, at all!

I am hungry now to do more of this work. I’ve proved to myself that it works and isn’t just theoretical. I can read about others experiences and believe them but until I actually experience myself it remains just that, others experiences.

I find myself getting more and more interested in ritual magic. It’s not really part of my Druid path in that I don’t mix the two, but since I’m one human being it kind of is in a way (besides I see the magician archetype as being very much part of the Druid archetype. Not for everyone, but for those that feel comfortable with that kind of thing).

I’m probably going to be talking about it more here, just as a warning. 😉

This entry was posted in Pagan Blog Project, Ritual Magic and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to PBP: Conjuration

  1. Darroch says:

    Goetia never really interested me, lol. However, being a hereditary Cornish cunning man I admit some ceremonial aspects of hoodoo were very interesting. I know that Hoodoo and Braucherei both used the ‘greater and lesser keys of Solomon’. Might wanna read “Hex and Spellwork: The Magical Practices of the Pennsylvania Dutch” by Karl Herr 🙂

    • Seillean says:

      Yeah Goetia never did it for me either after my teenage experimentation. It’s not one I plan to work with.

      Thanks for the book recommendation. It’s definitely on my list!

  2. Beautiful tools my friend, you use a burner for the wood? I am terrible with manualities with wood, can you give me some tips about burning woods, because your circles are very good. Ia have made my tools very nice as well but doing circles is always a horrible experiencien for me.

    • Seillean says:

      Thanks Grimnir! Yes I use a burner. I guess my only advice is to go slow and in one steady motion. I try not to take the tip off the wood because then I can never get it to line up properly again. Just kind of glide it around with a light pressure first, and then do a second firmer run once the “tracks” have been laid. That’s pretty much how I did it. Best of luck!

  3. journeymaid says:

    Fascinating! I’d love to hear more of your conjuring experiments!

  4. Please are you also implying that the table of practice shown here can equally be used for the conjuration of the goetia spirits?

    I am really interested to be clear of this please, if you can.

    Thank you

    • Seillean says:

      Hey Pete,

      Please keep in mind that for for Evocation I’m completely new at this. I have never worked with the Goetia, or it’s spirits so I’m honestly not the best person to ask. I’m not sure I feel comfortable giving advice. But I’m going to do so anyway, others please correct me if I’m wrong. My opinion is Yes I think you can use this method to contact Goetic spirits, however I would advise doing the traditional evocation as presented in the grimiore first before you did so. I think it’s always a good idea to do the traditional method first and then move on the alternate methods.

  5. Angelina says:

    Hey, I really love your blog. And I don’t think your ebony wand looks like crap; it looks awesome ^_^

  6. brantredux says:

    This is a fantastic entry. Ceremonial magic both fascinates and intimidates me, but I love the work you are doing, and the blog is fantastic!

  7. High Seillean,

    Please did you necessarily have to observe the waxing moon before doing your conjuration, or you just did not have that in mind?

    Aso do you think that the spirits may not appear if not in waxing moon?

    Thank you.

    • Seillean says:

      Hi Pete! This is exactly a question I have myself. Right now I’m pretty much doing my evocation with the waxing of the moon. There’s a ton I want to do, but I’ve been saving until the moon starts to wax again. I figure, at this early stage, it’s best to have all of ones ducks in a row you know? At least for angelics…

      I have noticed I can evoke the genus loci with no problem during the waning moon . It’s only my own experience though.

  8. Hello Seillean,

    You may perhaps understand that sometimes, some personal issues for queries may not need posting, since it may be private matters. On that bases could you please, possibly let me your personal email address when it comes to thoses matters?

    Thank you

  9. Hello Seillen,

    This is a personal question anyway. Please if one needs to contact a spirits to find out if his pending potential marriage was the right person and if it would be successful, which of the planetary spirits would you advise this person to contact?

    Thank you

  10. Please, i tried to conjure the spirit haniel last saturday after midnight when venus was the ruling planet. And by following all the instructions of the Modern Angelic Grimoire, i had all the needed tools in place, including the crystal ball at the middle of the triangle with all the required symbols and writings.

    To my surprise and huge disappointment, I never saw the spirit appeared or even any hint or sign. Please what would you suggest it might had gone wrong with such my first attempt experience?

    Thanks a lot

    • Seillean says:

      Pete, that’s not at all uncommon, don’t fret, and don’t give up! Odds are he WAS there, you just couldn’t perceive him. Keep in mind what I wrote here was my own personal experience, and everyone is different! Don’t fall into not the trap of expecting the same the same thing as everyone else, I’ve been there and it’s not fun, You may just need to learn how you personally experience spirit contact, everyone is different.

      First I’d take some time, a week or so to connect with the spirit. Meditate daily on his sigil. Write it out until you can memorize it. Use his name as a mantra. Think about his attributions. This will draw him to you and forge a bond. You want to fascinate yourself with him. Then when you try again you’ll

      Next realize you might not see anything. It doesn’t mean he’s not there. state your request, ask your question anyway and make sure to dismiss afterwards. You may get your answer as a deep knowing, in dreams, even through a song. Be open to how the spirit communicates and how you receive this communication. My best to you and good luck.

  11. Lance Foster says:

    it is remarkable that you perceive an apparently physical reality of light and the spirit’s appearance within the crystal. I would like to hear more about your thoughts and experiences with the genius loci.

    • Seillean says:

      Hi Lance,

      Believe me no one was more surprised than I was! I’ve actually since noticed it’s spirit specific. I only got the light with Gabriel. I didn’t get any visual at all from Uriel in the crystal, but did get a weird floating experience, like being on cold medication or something. My (limited!) experience with the genus loci so far has shown me sometimes they appear in the crystal sans light, other times just a glimpse or sigil. The more I do this, the more I find every spirit manifests differently. Others mileage may vary, but it’s been my experience thus far.

    • My sincerest of appreciation, i will go on as you have advised and shall keep you informed as developments unfold.

      All the best my friend.

  12. pete says:

    Please could you kindly advise me on how to make a lamen/pentacle for spirit conjuration if the seal does not present one?

    Thank you.

    • Skyllaros says:

      Hi Pete, If you don’t have the sigil or seal just use the name to start out with on the lamen, then ask for a seal when you first contact them for future use. Or you could try to figure out the sigil using a planetary square of other such methods such as the rose cross lamen.

      Which spirit are you looking at if I may ask?

      • pete says:

        Thanks very much. i shall let you know the spirits as soon as possible. I have unfortunately left the book at home when coming.

        Cheers, pete

      • Here are the spirits:

        Asmdiah
        Dantalion
        Andromalius. These three do have seals but no lamens

        However, Sondama, alias sondanna has neither a seal nor lamen.

        I can make good sense of your advise yesterday actually.

        Please note that the above spirits including others are in a book titled book of treasure spirits, by david rankine.

        Thanks.

  13. Hello Sir, please if for example a book advises that a lamen for some particular spirit conjurations should be made in a plate of silver ,and one does not have a plate of silver, can that be made on anything that looks like a silver or it could be made on a parchment paper?

    I would sincerely appreciate your suggestion as always Sir

    Thank you

    • Skyllaros says:

      Hi Pete! Great question. I think one should always do what they have the means to do. For instance if you actually have the means to use a silver plate, use a silver plate. If you don’t (which is most of us!), then use the best you can. I think a parchment painted with silver ink would work. Also, something Jason Miller suggested to me when I asked a very similar question is to use silver leafing. You could get a wood plate at a craft store and use silver paint or silver leafing to make the inscriptions.

      • Thank you very much for your time and expertize as usual. I am now relieved because i can see that your suggestion is exactly the answer.

        Thanks much Sir

  14. Owen says:

    Have You been doing ritual works and scrying before you did the evocation?

Leave a Reply

