A Mages Life is the Life for Me: Whats been going on with me (April 2012 edition)

In the lack of anything interesting or important to write I figured I’d do a general “whats been going on with me” post.I’ve been a busy mage… I’m not sure when I started using that word. It was never a conscious decision, it just snuck into my vocabulary when referring to myself.  However, it seems to fit better than anything else right now.  It feels… Right. Now you can call yourself anything you like. The question is can you bring the goods? Well lets just say, I’m working on it.

As mentioned in the past few posts I’ve been working on RO’s, The Black Work course. I’ve been busy making my planetary talismans, but also doing a lot of evocation work. I’ve been undergoing initiation into the 4 elemental spheres, working with the 4 archangels and the 4 princes of the elements. I’ve had some “wow” evocation moments, and a lot of subdued non-spectacular but none the less equally powerful results too. What I did notice was how my life reflected these initiation periods during their proceedings.

My plans are to continue on with this. Here’s what I have planned in the near future:

  • I finally figured out my good and evil genius names. First I plan to make contact with my good Genius (hopefully this week).
  • Then I plan to bind my Evil Genius and the 4 princes hostile to the elements in lead. First I need some steel to engrave their names on though.
  • I want to forge a greater connection to Kammeal and the sphere of Mars, my ruling sphere.
  • I want to summon each elemental archangel again and request elemental familiars.
  • I plan to summon each planetary angel in turn on the appropriate day/hour to ask them to formally concencrate my talismans.
  • I have a major “campaign” I’m working on magically that I plan to kick off on the upcoming new moon, using a strategic sorcery approach. I’ve also made a sigil shoal I plan to charge then all at once. I’ll be asking Elubatel for help again on this front since it’s a large, life direction type of goal. One of my sigils already manifested this weekend before even charging, so I’m taking that as a good sign.
  • I plan to start on the White Work and begin Liber Semekh to attain K&C with my HGA after all this is done. Or maybe during. I’ll see what my Good Genius says 🙂 Why wait, ya know?

So I’ve got tons to work on magically coming up to keep me busy-busy. I’m also continuing my exploration of the NAP, and am taking Jason Millers new Strategic Self course. I’m only 2 lessons in but I’m finding it very challenging so far

Now I’ve been enjoying the hell out of Hermetic magic. It’s really been quelling that itch for me. I think much of my past struggling was due to my longing for initiation. I don’t mean initiation into a group, but initiation from the spirits. This is very much filling the bill.I’m not sure if it’s Hermetics itself, or finally undergoing these initiations, having direction, or doing the work that it doing it for me. I assume that Hermetics will become a part of my path for a long time to come.

However, I’m not keen to leave Hekate behind or my chthonic roots. Hermetics is filling the solar side I need, but without my grounding in the “earthier” lunar Witchcrafty side I know I won’t be happy for long. I need both. I also plan to continue my explorations of the PGM and Chaldean oracles. I know it all connects together eventually. The Chaldean Oracles is considered a Neo-Platonic document which of course leads right into Hermetics.

Eventually all roads lead to and from Hekate (I have this image of her as the anthropomorphic representation of Steven Kings Dark Tower).

It’s all too much to do at once however. Maybe I’ll give The Unlikely Mage’s approach a try?

This past week has also found me longing for the old Chaos Magic days, again. I would still love to have one banner under which to fit all this into. I said in that old article the following:

Some times, when I’m struggling the most with whatever system I’m working in I secretly wonder if inside I’m just an old chaos mage who got so immersed in a particular paradigm that he simply forgot he was chaos mage.

I still wonder that. There are things that I greatly miss about Chaos Magic. There are things that I don’t miss too. There has to be a reason my mind keeps periodically going back to it though, with increasing frequency. Every once in awhile I take out all my old materials and sigh wistfully, clearly longing to re-connect with something somewhere there, and also repelled at the same time.

One positive strength I believe the CM approach has ingrained in me is suspicion of any formal cosmology. I can interact with all the gods and spirits, and I believe they are real, something external to my own mind.  However whenever I see a cosmology that says “this is the way it is” it feels confining and I always think “no it’s really not”. I think models are great to have but are ultimately limiting. This is why I stopped calling myself a Pagan. I just could not fit within the cosmology anymore (even though I still firmly believe in all of the gods). Whatever great universal truth is out there I think is far beyond our comprehension, and one of the strengths of CM, that draws me still, is maintaining that sense of wonder in the face of unknowable. Not random belief, but flexibility of belief, for me is the key.

Last week I had a dream I was reading a (fictitious dream created) book called “New Millennium Chaos Magic“. It had two halves. The first half was written in red ink and detailed the primal, shamanic magics. The second half was written in blue ink and detailed high magic and celestial initiations (I’d really love to read this book by the way)! It struck me very much as a symbolic book of my own magical practice.

I was very please to see Jason Millers start on a series of post-chaos magic articles. Let’s just say, if there’s going to be a post-chaos magic renaissance going on, I want in on it. I really hope this kind of thinking takes off. I really hope this becomes a “thing”. If there are mages out there working to bring this fruit to bear, I want to be a part of it.

This entry was posted in My Path, Ritual Magic and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A Mages Life is the Life for Me: Whats been going on with me (April 2012 edition)

  1. Kullervo says:

    One positive strength I believe the CM approach has ingrained in me is suspicion of any formal cosmology. I can interact with all the gods and spirits, and I believe they are real, something external to my own mind. However whenever I see a cosmology that says “this is the way it is” it feels confining and I always think “no it’s really not”. I think models are great to have but are ultimately limiting. . . . Whatever great universal truth is out there I think is far beyond our comprehension,

    Amen. This kind of thing has been on my mind a lot lately. As valuable as I think models and theologies and cosmologies are, whenever I try to “box in” my spiritual world either by formalizing it myself or by trying to commit to some other existing formal structure, I find myself almost immediately turned off by it.

    • Seillean says:

      Kullervo,
      Indeed, whenever I try to fit myself into a box I find myself bursting out of it shortly afterwards. Glad I’m not alone on that. Ultimatly, whatever viewpoint I take has to have some flexablity and fit the unknowable within it.

  2. polyphanes says:

    Speaking from experience, don’t try to do all seven planetary conjuration/consecration rituals in a single week. Unless you can handle that sort of massive influx of energy and chaos (I barely did), spread them out a bit, maybe to three in one week, four in the next. Fun times, to be sure, but dang.

    Also, for getting contact with the natal genii, try solar hours on Sundays for a first contact.

    • Seillean says:

      Polyphanes,

      Thank you for the advice, i’ll take it to heart. A part of me would love to tackle all of them in 7 days, fortuantly or unfortunatly, I don’t think I’d be able to do it. It took me over 6 weeks to do the elemental initiations. Besides, as you state, I don’t think I’m ready for that influx of energy quite yet. I’ll be going slow and steady. 😉

      Thanks for the advice on the sundays in solar hours. It looks like that corresponds with the new moon this month! A great time to try to make first contact I think.

  3. Gordon says:

    Chaos. For. Life. 🙂

    Pretty much the reason I stopped calling myself a pagan, too. Still think like one most of the time.

  4. MrBlack says:

    Get in there, lol. 🙂 If you have something to share that will add to this “post-chaos magic renaissance” then feel free.

  5. Rufus Opus says:

    The things I’ve found in ChM that resonate and apply I’ve also found in Agrippa and the original Hermetic system. What I miss about the Chaos Magic stuff is that it was bad ass, a big fuck you to bullshit. I was 18 in 1992, and Weiser and Red Wheel were publishing shit that had an attitude I could identify with. It wasn’t the dry dusty dated mathers westcott bullshit. It wasn’t the encyclopedic regardie bullshit. It was raw and on as much LSD as I was. It was beautiful, at the time.

    But it didn’t work. I mean, some of it did. The stuff that I later found in Middle English in Agrippa that also worked. Fotamecus, the revelation of a spirit, its name, its seal, and its powerful effects. That’s straight Hermetic stuff right there, the raw shamanic go-out-and-meet-the-spirits-and-come-back-and-DO-SHIT-with-them-that-works. That’s how we got Raphael and Michael’s seals.

    And that’s what I love about Jake Stratton-Kent’s stuff, it’s raw, it’s real. Peel away the layers of bullshit 19th century occult theory, and Hermeticism is psychonauts going out and hooking up with Genius Loci, getting names and seals, and changing the world. It’s getting laid and paid, for God’s sake, because that’s why we’re here. To create the world.

    I want to connect with something from my chaos days too, and at the same time, I’m repelled by all the weakness of the system. I don’t know how much of wanting to reconnect with the chaos magic is wishing I was 18 again though.

    • Seillean says:

      I want to connect with something from my chaos days too, and at the same time, I’m repelled by all the weakness of the system. I don’t know how much of wanting to reconnect with the chaos magic is wishing I was 18 again though.

      Yes ^^^. This rings true to me as well. There IS something there I want to connect to, but it’s a lesson learned or a mindset. Something I need to revisit… As you say the nostalgia factor for that time in my life is a large part of it.

      I’ve thought hard about this this week. Am I going back to Chaos? No probably not. I’m actually REALLY happy with what I’ve found in Hermetics. I’m planing a whole post on this so I’ll keep this one short.

      Ah Jake Stratton-Kent’s stuff. That is what got me interested in exploring Hermetics to begin with if you can believe that. It was all following a trail of bread crumbs for me that lead here. Amazing stuff there! I haven’t even begin to touch the surface.

      Thanks for your comment RO. It’s given me a lot to think about.

  6. herberahelix says:

    i think hekate fitts very well into the hermetic-ceremonialmagic-way. the hekate of the chaldean oracles is very solar (as she was in asia minor) and she was in the theurgy the ruler over the angels and daimones, and as soteira she is the patron deity of theurgy. hekate soteira was seen as the highest emanation of hekate.

    but hekate is also the patron of witchcraft- the more chtonic magical way. hekate physis was seen as the lowest manifestation of her- the goddes who is the material world, like she is described in the pgm.

    so i see both ways connected to her- the solar-hermetic way and the chtonic witchcraft practices.

    • Seillean says:

      Hererahelix,

      Thanks for the comment! I think your totally right. This is the thread I’ve been pulling at recently myself. 😉 Thanks very much for your insights!

Leave a Reply

