October News

The Hounds of Hekate

Not sure why, but I haven’t had much of an interest in blogging recently. I’m not apologizing for it, I’m a firm believer in the Blogging without Obligation philosophy, just haven’t had anything to say. I’ve been doing tons of spiritual work. Been focusing a LOT on Hekate recently. Perhaps there will be some Hekate related posts coming up soon? I’m not sure why but words just won’t come. So in the absence of words, here are some pics.

I’ve been doing some bone work. I’ve come into the care of a few new skulls. 2 Coyote and 1 Boar. I’m in the process of cleaning and concecrating them. Once done I’ll be decorating them with sigils and they will join my cadre of spirit companions on Hekates altar.

Boars skull sitting my the new cauldron

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

R.O’s post awhile back on the Favor of Kings got me to thinking. I did a ritual with Michael to obtain tFoK, and it worked pretty well, but for long term use I wanted something physical to concentrate on to maintain it indefinitely. Thus, I’m making a Solar box in which I’ll probably have a whole post on in the future of how I plan to use it, but for now, some pics:

Exterior

Interior

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Been doing some Mars work. Making good use of both my conjure box and my Mars disk:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Oh and I re-finished my Baphomet statue. Ever notice how places offer resin and cold-cast bronze versions of statues, with the bronze version usually being about $100 more than the resin? Unless your REALLY interested in having bronze, simply re-finishing it will give you the same effect, sans the extra $100.

 

Before

 

After

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I realize this was one of the most UN-inspiring blog posts ever, but I leave you with one perhaps exciting tidbit:

I’ve been wanting to do another devotional for awhile now, to follow up the Horned God devotional. In the past month, about 3 separate people have asked me when I’m going to get around to doing that, so I’m taking from the hint from above. Honestly, I want to do something to honor Hekate this time, but there are so many good Hekate devotionals out there already. At least 4 by my count, one by B.A. and 3 by Avalonia. What could I have to add to that? Wouldn’t that be redundant?

I thought about doing a generic type “Dark Goddess/Witchmother” devotional, but the idea sits “meh” with me. This does not excite me. If it doesn’t excite me, then I doubt I’d be able to work up the enthusiasm to excite any of you about it.

So I went back and asked Hekate herself, what I could do to honor her and the idea pretty much struck me like lightening from above. I’ll take it as divinely inspired. A Crossroads devotional. It certainly fits with the theme of my blog. Dedicated to deities such as Hekate, Hermes, Papa Legba, Exu, Old Horney, the black man at the crossroads, as well as experiences, spells, charms, practices,  essays on limnility, the sacred nature of crossroads, and of course artwork! I’ll be putting up an official announcement soon, hopefully this week.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to October News

  1. snaegl says:

    So, for what it’s worth, I always find craft posts inspiring. 🙂 And the crossroads theme for the next devotional is an awesome idea! I’m looking forward to hearing more about it.

  2. Damned fine idea. The cover art possibilities alone are inspiring.

  3. ladyimbrium says:

    I always find picture posts inspiring. Lets me see what others are doing as opposed to trying to picture it in my head and failing. The Crossroads devotional sounds pretty awesome.

  4. Soli says:

    I still need to wrap up something for another anthology I’ve been meaning to get out for over a year. But I think a crossroads anthology would be a splendid idea and I will see what I can conjure up if you choose to do it.

  5. Scylla says:

    I really liked this post. It shows you’re doing the work – that’s the really important part.

    Count me in for the crossroads devotional.

  6. Robert Goode says:

    Scarlet Imprint(Great company, btw) did a Crossroads anthology thingy. HOWEVER, I believe it was mostly some ceremonial magicians trying to blend Western magic with ATRs(*major cringe*). I’d like to see an anthology on the crossroads in magick with a much broader range than that. Do you converse with Nicholaj Frisvold? He would be quite the great contributer, I imagine. Obviously, I’m sure Sarah would jump at the chance to contribute to something like this. You might be able to beat me into submitting something small as well.

    I already have an idea for a third anthology, on chthonic spirits. While worship of land deities was common in the ancient world, most condemned the worship of spirits ands gods of the dead and the underworld. However, Death is becoming more accepted by modern polytheists and pagans, and I think such a book would do quite well in a number of circles.

    This has been your monthly dose of Rob.

    • Skyllaros says:

      I like your idea about the chthonic spirits devotional. I had an idea of doing something similar as a quarterly journal, but never got around to it.

      You might be able to beat me into submitting something small as well.

      Now I have this image in my head of beating you with a stick while screaming “SUBMIT” 🙂

  7. Frater G.S says:

    Hello my friend,

    I reallt like this post, very nice to see you in the works of the Queen. Your idea for the new devotional since very good, and if you like I could said something about it, I live in a country were the crossroads are very important since we have many african-traditions devoted and me, being a Trident Magus, have found many interesting relations, specially in the subject of “The Black Man At The Crossroads”, and I think you can related with that.

    PD: By the way I am out of Facebook for a while, thats why I am not putting this with my profile there, I just need time out of that to concentrated more in my Ascension Works. Cheers!

  8. Phoebe says:

    I like the re-done Baphomet! …and a devotional sounds great as well. I just read Hoofprints in the Wildwood and it’s *excellent*.

  9. Yvonne says:

    Dutch witch here…I sometimes kinda sorta lurk here, but need to join the chorus now about your idea for a crossroads devotional. Sounds like a great idea – and maybe I’ll even contribute if it’s possible.

Leave a Reply

