Your Brain on Magic

energy-bodies For the last two weeks I’ve fallen off my daily magical practice schedule. I like to have some sort of daily practice, even if it’s just one offering and prayer, or just some energy work. I usually try for more than that, but sometimes you’ve got to make do with what you can.  The past two weeks have been kind of different. Both my wife and I are starting new jobs and getting used to new schedules. There have been 3 sick kids at home, all adjusting to their first experiences with day care (and grumpy as all shit!).  At the end of the night it’s been all I could do to collapse with a glass wine or tea and relax a bit before heading to bed exhausted. So my magical practice has suffered. I planned on picking it back up next week when our schedules change to more manageable levels.

Thing is, I’ve felt like crap this past week and I didn’t even realize it. Just sludgy, and somewhat depressed. I didn’t even associate this with my lack of practice. Last night I did a full daily routine. Full banishing  with energy work, and a Mass of Baphomet in the day and hour of Mercury with offerings like I used to do before I fell off the practice. I had the clearest dreams. I woke up feeling amazing and happy and energetic. No depression or sludge. Colors brighter, smells sharper and all that cliche jazz. I just had an unshakable happy disposition and tons of energy that has lasted all day.

Then I realized, this is your brain on magic. This is how I normally feel and it’s just become so routine I’ve failed to notice it until I didn’t feel it for awhile. Slowly I was slipping back to a steady state zero. If there is any justification for doing magic and or energy work, this is certainly a big one.  Sometimes it’s good to have these reminders on exactly why one practices in the first place.

Life.

It’s better with magic.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Your Brain on Magic

  1. Jose Prado says:

    You know brother, I been going through something similar. Though not from lack of magick, from lack of spirituality. I started setting up my Altars again and it’s been helping me again. I guess that’s my brain on spirituality LOL

    • Skyllaros says:

      Hi Jose,
      Aye, for me magic and spirituality go hand in hand. Their so meshed together I can’t separate the two anymore :). Setting up ones altars is a great feeling! Their like spiritual generators! Good luck!

  2. Andrew says:

    Amen. Or as a druid, I should say AWEN? Or as a… So mote it be?

    A year into daily practice and I don’t get sick. Like, at all. Ever. Call it spiritual influence or harmonious relations with the astral, or regular exercise or preventative mental health. I don’t know. I just know it works.

    • Skyllaros says:

      Hi Andrew,

      Thanks for the comment. Your practice is one I greatly admire, how you stick with it everyday. I think having a strong daily practice does go a long way in keeping one from getting sick. I’ve noticed the same, when I’m practicing daily, I practically never get sick.

      Awen indeed!

  3. This post came at a really opportune time for me. It kicked my ass into doing purification stuffs again in my morning routine. And you’re absolutely right…the sludge just melts away. Thanks. 🙂

  4. keisim says:

    Just had a similar experience just before reading your post! Greater clarity and peace of mind for sure. Was reminded of why I chose this path in the first place. 🙂

  5. wilderquill says:

    Just started reading your blog, and I’m enjoying it thus far.
    The other day I happened to sit down and get into magic(k) mode myself. While my magic(k) operations are about once or twice a month…I do recognize the power those acts have to reinforce a more centered persona and more powerful ego-self.
    Magic(k)al practice is a definite boost to one’s emotional state.

    -Todd.

Leave a Reply

