My Meager Juniper-Inspired Casting Collection

collectionDivination has always been my weak point. I’m just not terribly good at it. I can do magic ok, but divination, I’m just crap at. As for magical alphabets I can use the Runes or Ogham ok in a ritual context, but I could never learn to divine meaning from them in a divination context. I hate tarot. The only deck I have really connected with is the Wildwood Tarot, and even then I don’t go by card meanings. I tend to “scry” the cards and let them tell me a story, but its never based on traditional meanings of the cards or spread positions. I’ve considered even cutting off the names at the bottom of each card and using them as a pure oracle deck (I may still do that actually). Speaking of oracle decks, while I like the various ones out there, the Druid Animal and Plant oracles, Heart of Faerie  etc… I just cant read with them without resorting to the book. This ruins the experience for me. I hate any divination that makes me have to read or memorize a meaning out of a book.  Polyphanes has done some amazing amazing posts on the subject  of Geomancy lately. I’ve read them and JMG’s book on the subject, but it’s just not a system that will resonate with me either I’m afraid. My hat is off to those who can work it though.

One of the reasons I like magical evocation into a crystal is that it offers me the opportunity to speak to a spirit directly, but who wants to conjure a spirit every time you need a simple reading? Can you say overkill? For awhile now I’ve been admiring and wanting to try Junipers Casting Collection method. I think the intuitive approach is just what would work for me. Also since my practice seems to be being leading back to a more Traditional Witchcraft/Druidry road again it fits in more with what I want and where I want to go with my own practice. I’ve seen others do the same thing lately, and it gave me a bit of a kick in the but to get busy and at least try to get my collection started even if it wont be awesome to start with.

Trouble is, I haven’t attempted it before because I didn’t think I had enough “stuff” to make a decent collection with. So last night I lit the temple fires, and asked the spirits to guide my mind and hands. I then went on a scavenger hunt through my temple area to see if I could come up with the start of a collection at least. Better something to begin with than nothing all right? Incidentally I find this is half of magic. Getting off your butt and doing something, anything, even if it’s not “perfect”. Hard for perfectionists? For now here is what I came up with. Turns out I still don’t have a whole lot!  I fully expect my own collection to be a living entity that will get added to as time goes on. It’s a nucleus only right now, just to get started with. You’ll notice I only have a few elemental and planetary pieces here. I plan to hunt out more to complete the elemental/planetary associations. I’d like all 4 elements and 7 planets represented ideally. Since I have recently explored a more ceremonial approach, and I’m taking that back with me into the Witchy Wilds, it will likely have a few ceremonial aspects to it.

I also want to paint the casting cloth. What I’m using now is some sort of spotted cat pelt I got in Miami last time I was there. We will see if it is big enough. I have some ideas for symbols I want to put on it. So here is the very rough start of my collection. Many thanks to Juniper for inspiring it and pioneering the concept! I hope to post again down the line when it grows into something greater. So far it seems to be just what I needed/wanted in terms of intuitive divination. I think this is going to work for me better than the other methods I’ve tried, even with only these few pieces already

So here are my own collection pieces and their meanings and origins:

Raccoon Rib Bone

Meaning: Manipulation of events, cunning, use of wits, intelligence.

Origin: Found whole raccoon skeleton while doing offerings at the beach one day.

Amber: 

Meaning: The Sun, Health, Good times, Favor and Fortune

Origin: Have had it since I was a kid. Bought in a store somewhere.

Water Smoothed Glass Shard: 

Meaning: Water, emotion, fluidity, cleansing

Origin: Found on the local beach at Lake Mendota.

Red Stone: 

Meaning: Fire, heat, activity, increase

Origin: Have had it since I was a kid. Bought in a store somewhere.

Steel Penney: 

Meaning: Mars. War. Strife. Attacking. War fare.

Origin: Bought this for my talisman project but ended up not using it. Steel Pennies were produced during WWII during copper rationing. It’s also been marinating in War Oil for about a year now for added oomph.

Acorn: 

Meaning: Stability. Growth. Quiet Strength.

Origin: Found locally.

Owl Bone: 

Meaning: Wisdom, levity, flight, spirit and animal familiars.

Origin: A gift from an awesome Witch 😉

Tusk of a Gnotobiotic Miniature Swine:

Meaning: The God. Masculine Energy. Protection. Necessary war. Aggression. Go on the offense.

Origin: Given to me by a veterinarian when I was in grad school. He insisted I take it, even though at the time I had no idea what to do with it. I like to think of it as a boar tusk (even though its from a miniature swine).

Antique Skeleton Key: 

Meaning: Open Doors and pathways.

Origin: Local antique store.

Wooden Skull Bead: 

Meaning: Death. The ancestors influence.

Origin: Online store.

Apple Branch: 

Meaning: Otherworld, magic, mysticism, parting of the veil.

Origin: The In-Laws apple orchard

Fish Vertebrae: 

Meaning: I have no idea yet. It has yet to speak to me, but it was clear it wanted in the collection.

Origin: I found it again at Lake Mendota’s beach.

Amethyst Stone: 

Meaning: Spirituality, spiritual concerns

Origin: Have had it since I was a kid. Bought in a store somewhere.

Rusty Iron Nail

Meaning: Aversion from danger, finality, “The nail in the coffin”.

Origin: Antique store in Baraboo.

Hekate Coin: 

Meaning: Hekate’s influence directly

Origin: http://scrollofpoppaeus.wordpress.com/

Pyrite: 

Meaning: False hopes, lies, deceit.

Origin: Again, have had it forever.

Crystal Point: 

Meaning: Clarity, purpose

Origin: Local new age shop

Aqua Aura Stone:

Meaning: Jupiter. Increase. Fortune. Grace.

Origin: Local new age shop

Alligator tooth: 

Meaning: Luck, fortune, take the gamble, can’t win if you don’t play.

Origin: Lucky Mojo Curio Company

Lead Disk (not shown)

Meaning: Saturn, blinding, slowing, death,

Origin: I cast it myself with a blow torch.

Quarter with a hole drilled in it (not shown)

Meaning: Financial distress, losing money, poor finances

Origin: I found it on the road one day. Someone must of made a necklace out of it? Why else drill a hole through a quarter? <shrug>.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to My Meager Juniper-Inspired Casting Collection

  1. RobertG. says:

    I’ve never put any stock into random cards on a table, or how a star or planet is moving, or letters of an alphabet from some culture I’ve never had any connection to. Like Dumbledore, I view divination as a mostly useless magical practice. Don’t stress about it. If someone needs to tell you something, they will.

  2. Jose Prado says:

    You don’t need to Conjure a spirit. You can ask your spirit guides directly and they will reveal things to you either telepathically or emphatically.

    The problem with us Mages is we tend to be overly ritualistic or ceremonial when Low Magick or communication with our Spirit Guides can easily do the trick.

    Try it. Ask your guides in your mind which of them is your Divinatory and Fortune Telling spirit or spirits. At least one will come forward.

    Also, Fortune Telling and Divination are two different things. Divination is calling on Higher Spirit (Like Angels) to reveal important answers to us.

    Fortune Telling is calling on lower spirits like the Dead or Nature spirits to reveal regular, not so important answers to trivial questions we have concerning our lot or luck.

    Some tools can be used for both Divining and Fortune Telling like the Tarot. But it is important to know the difference between both for proper Soothsaying.

    That might have your wires crossed which is why you aren’t getting it. If you call on a higher spirit for Fortune Telling that can screw up the process.

    Btw when I say Higher Spirit I don’t mean “more powerful” I mean one is on another plane of existence in a Heavenly realm like the Summerlands and the other is on Earth (though albeit still on another plane of existence) Faeries are just as powerful as Angels.

    Don’t fall into the trap of classifying one as more powerful than the other.

    Have you tried Lot casting and Divination with Dice?

  3. Soli says:

    First, this line here:
    Getting off your butt and doing something, anything, even if it’s not “perfect”. Hard for perfectionists?
    is a mouthful and sums up all my issues around my witchiness. Sad to admit to but it’s truth.

    Also at some point I want to do a collection like this for myself. But I also would feel hesitant using it because of its very nature. Need to get over that.

    In the interim, one of my siblings in the House of Netjer devised an oracle set a few years ago inspired by Wepwawet. Several stones with hieroglyphs on them, a few semi-precious stones, and a painted casting cloth. It gives very potent readings and at some point I have told her I want my own set.

  4. This is exactly my struggle with Tarot and other Divination techniques. I had actually found Juniper’s blog last month, and have slowly been working on my own collection. Huzzah for another like minded soul ^_^

    I like the objects in your collection, eclectic but seem to fit you perfectly. Thank you for sharing this, finding others who think in similar veins is very nice.

  5. Iolair says:

    Thank you for sharing this with us. It looks great, my friend. I hope that it speaks to you more than other systems and I can’t wait to see how the set and the cloth turns out. I have always dreamed of something like this. It just feels so primal and right to me. One day I will have a set like this. Gives me chills just thinking about it.
    Thanks again, friend

  6. stormyviews says:

    I have nominated you for the Versatile Blogger award. I hope the you are able to accept. Please check out the rules on my blog http://stormyviews.wordpress.com/

  7. elmwych says:

    Hello! I have nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award. Hope you can accept! The rules can be found on my blog here: http://elmewychblog.wordpress.com/2013/04/23/versatile-blogger-award/

  8. Anne says:

    I think that’s wonderful! Gorgeous collection! I use bones myself, because I had the same issues with Tarot, and I’ve been working on a symbol-set for myself as well (getting there, takes time). Thank you for sharing this post, I wish you all the luck with it!

  9. I absolutely love your humor and way of writing. I myself have never had much luck with readings of various natures because of the whole “look at the card (or whatever means your using) and look up the meaning in a book “…I have my Sight and visions in dreams mostly, and then those are usually obscure at best. Waking dreams are a little easier for me to decipher, but in the big scheme of things, don’t you think life is more relaxed when you don’t know the future? I’ve never been great at any form of divination when forced and looking for it. If you’re meant to know something, the Gods will most definitely let you know. Keep doing what you’re doing. Your collection is more apt to show you what you need to be shown, as you’ve built it over your lifetime, rather than a store bought tarot or rune set…and don’t get me started on the blasphemies of commercially created so called sacred tools! Your collection is perfect the way it is…and it will hold more for you for it. Blessings

  10. at the card (or whatever means your using) and look up the meaning in a book “…I have my Sight and visions in dreams mostly, and then those are usually obscure at best. Waking dreams are a little easier for me to decipher, but in the big scheme of things, don’t you think life is more relaxed when you don’t know the future? I’ve never been great at any form of divination when forced and looking for it. If you’re meant to know something, the Gods will most definitely let you know. Keep doing what you’re doing. Your collection is more apt to show you what you need to be shown, as you’ve built it over your lifetime, rather than a store bought tarot or rune set…and don’t get me started on the blasphemies of commercially created so called sacred tools! Your collection is perfect the way it is…and it will hold more for you for it. Blessings

  11. Awesome post! I love seeing more and more fellow seekers starting to put together their own personal divination sets. There is something magical about seeing individuals using individual systems that actually MEAN something to them. Great post, as well as wonderful comments discussion. Bravo!

    • Skyllaros says:

      Hi Joseph,

      Thanks so much for the comment and kind words! I’m glad you liked it. I agree, that finding a system that actually means something to you is the best way to go.

  12. Juniper says:

    Hey! Looking good 🙂

Leave a Reply

