Crippled with Indecision

Wow it’s been a long time since I’ve posted (blows the dust off of blog). There are reasons for that. First off, this summer has been one long “cool time” for me magically. A lot of people I know have hot and cool times during the year. My “woo” tends to decrease in the summer and kick up again in the fall. Thus, in the summer I’m most likely to be doing just basic practices. Prayers, offerings, minor energy work. Not much more.

Second, I wanted to move away from blogging for awhile to let myself reset. It’s too easy to form ones path around the blog-o-sphere. It’s too easy to get influenced by who/what is popular in occult circles right now, what will so and so think o me, will this be popular? I firmly believe ones path will ring truest if it comes from a quiet place of power, rather than what or who is popular in occult trends right now. I needed some distance from all of that.

Third and most importantly I’ve come to the point that I’m crippled with indecision regarding where I want to take my magical path. Too many magical interests, too little time. Even if I DID have the time, I think that following one or two core paths is preferable to the scattershot-eclectic approach. Once you get too bogged down with your feet into too many traditions there is this weird sitting at the altar going “what should I be be doing right now?” feeling. I don’t like that feeling. As a matter of fact I hate that feeling.

I remember awhile back The Unlikely Mageย wrote about something similar and used a pendulum to dowse where he should be on his path. So I’m going to use his approach. Tonight, I’m whipping out the pendulum, making some offerings and summoning my HGA (who I have a pretty good rapport with now.) and asking where I would get the most bang for my buck in terms of path. Where should I be focusing my efforts? My list is as follows:

  • Revival Druidry
  • Hermetics
  • Traditional Witchcraft
  • Chaos Magic
  • Strategic Sorcery
  • Hekate as patron
  • Horned God as patron
  • Hellenic Gods in General
  • Celtic Gods in General
  • Saint Cyprian
  • Tarot
  • Lenmorand
  • Dowsing
  • Evocation
  • Planetary Gate Work
  • the NAP

Now I have my favorites just by reading the list, but I’ll be interested to see what my HGA things. Updates later this week.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Crippled with Indecision

  1. Aj / Melia says:

    Being not very familiar with pendulums, how do you work through this list…just by asking yes/no questions?

  2. inominandum says:

    If your pendulum tells you Strategic Sorcery and St Cyprian – you need to write me.

    • Skyllaros says:

      Heh. Seeing as how Strategic Sorgery pretty much permeates everything I do at some level, I’ll be surprised (and question my methods heavily) if I get a no on that one. Still, I wanted to throw everything on the list to get a big picture. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Sunny says:

    I’m sort of the same way – in the summer I get not lazy but way slowed down. Now I’m starting to feel like its time for me to start up again.
    I also started using the pendulum – its the most reliable divination for me. I need to make my list up too ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Belle says:

    If your path is life-long, you will have time to devote to all of your interests. Pendulum advice is great, but I am all for letting your intuition guide you. Which means Paying Attention to the signs.
    Backing off from the internet is a natural outcome of that process..

    I was wondering what was up with you last night. Glad you blogged!

Leave a Reply

