The Solstice That Wasn’t (June 2012)

  So just the other day I was commenting on the Red Work course forums how I had gotten through the Headless One rite without my life falling apart and relatively unscathed. Which apparently the Powers That Be took as a challenge because that same day, it did! In a big way, on pretty much all spectrums.

So lets just say I had a really crappy couple of days. Yesterday sucked, and I decided I just want to tear it all down and start over. A clean slate. Since it was the summer solstice, I thought it would be a good day to start. So I did some searching and decided to try this Baphomet ritual by Andrieh Vitimus,. (adapted for my own solitary use) It sounded like just want I needed and I was excited to try. So I studied it all day, committing it to memory and set up my altar as shown to the left.

Now i’m not always good about doing divination before doing magic. I’ll admit it’s a thing I often overlook. But it seemed prudent in this case and I had a nagging sensation coming from my spirit altar (which contains my ancestors, nature spirits, archangels, and my more osticlly-inclined animal companions). So I gave a full offering (including some nifty new Morning Star incense I was excited about), and asked for their advice via divination. Now I suck at divination, I’ll freely admit. Just stink at it! It’s my weak point. But I tried the Tarot cards and the message seemed pretty clear. There is no escape. Magic will not work. I’m stuck and that’s all there is too it. The only way out is to suck it up and keep my head low. Ouch.

This incidentally matched a similar divination I did with Hekate the night earlier for the Dark Moon. It sucks when you get it from two sources and can’t ignore it. (Note: I don’t believe in being a slave to ones spirits. I firmly reject that mentality.  However I think its wise to heed their counsel, especially if they are adamant about something.)

I did not like this answer. So I broke out the pendulum. I’m actually pretty good at pendulums. My first one I got when I was under ten, which was included in a “Kreskins ESP kit” I found at the local thrift store. I was fascinated that it worked! Anyway I asked a bunch of questions. What if I change XYZ? What if I wait? Every time the answer was a firm NO. The thing was practically flying out of my hand.

<sigh>. I don’t know what their reasoning was but I chose to accept it, and dismantled the altar. (This btw is no ill reflection on Andrieh’s ritual, just my own suitability to perform it at this time). The ritual never happened.

I chose instead, since the hour of Venus was upon me, to evoke Anael to have a chat I’ve meaning to have. On the bright side I got to finally test my new conjure box. It worked really well. I felt that the connection was super clear and strong and her words like were like silk in my mind. It really increased the clarity of the conjuration. Kind of like the HD version. I also spent some time crafting about a dozen or so blank talismans for etching later at the appropriate magical hour (which is apparently the amount of talismans I can get out of 8.4 ounces of pewter).

Oh well, sometimes the best laid plans get thwarted. It sucks to be told one is stuck with no magical recourse. Maybe I’ll try one of those Road Openers Gordon was talking about?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to The Solstice That Wasn’t (June 2012)

  1. Aubs Tea says:

    I’m sorry that things aren’t working out well. But, at least you had *some* forewarning?

  2. Frater IV says:

    Interesting twist of fate. I’m just wondering if you tried consulting your SA about the situation? You might not get a different answer but perhaps you could get the “why” of the situation…

    • Skyllaros says:

      Hi Frater IV,

      Yup, that’s and idea I had too. I want to do it when I have a quiet few moments so it’s on my list of things to do tonight. I hope things are still well with you!

  3. greycatsidhe says:

    Sorry life is being a pain right now. Sometimes we just have to accept that we can’t always control our fate… Gods know it’s super hard! I hope that you can sail the unknown waters with grace and confidence. Everything will turn out right eventually, I’m sure!

  4. keisim says:

    Actually it’s quite perfect. Sometimes the best start is to know what NOT to do. And to me the important thing is that the communication is so strong that you are getting a consistent answer from several perspectives. Means they are paying very close attention to what you are doing. Very soon the “absolutely YES!” will come. 🙂

  5. Robert Goode says:

    I was trying to do too much, too fast yesterday. I finally identified the type of wood the large stick(which shall become a stang) I found many weeks ago is. So I tried removing some of the bark(hawthorn bark sucks when trying to remove it). I had another four or so projects going on, and just got so frustrated. I finally sat down in front of my altar, and decided to try a new mugwort smudge stick. Which, btw, is far too delicate to use as a stick, and most of it was just a bunch of dried stalks. Bah. I anointed myself, burned some incense, and tried to open myself to the gods of Elphame.. I got smacked on the head and told off.

    Point of my long story? Trying to spilt your focus too much hurts. You are naturally very busy, with kids and your important job and that weird sleeping habit. You’ve been quite focused into modern ceremonial magick, especially of the angelic variety. I think doing a Chaos-style ritual was probably not the best option. I think that’s what your spirits were telling you, to relax and focus on what you’ve spent 6 months doing, angelic magick. The solstice is a holiday. A day to relax as much as possible(whatever the hell that means). So, what Morning Star scent did you try? I have like 7 scents, seriously the best stick incense I own, and one of few types I use for ritual.

    • Skyllaros says:

      Wise words there Robert! Yup that rings home, I’m always trying to do too much at one magically speaking. Since i only have a short time per day, I’m often doing the same thing you mentioned in your story there. I think you made a very valid point there!

      Ah morning star, it’s the only incense i use in ritual. I was excited about the Amber scent. I have gardenia, musk, rose, sandalwood, amber, and cinnamon. I love that stuff!

      • Robert Goode says:

        I have some essential oil-made sticks I occasionally use. The Horned God and Hecate scents are just epic. Amber is great, burned that for the first time yesterday. If you are into nature scents, the MS Cedarwood is great, and I also suggest trying “Incense of the West”. It’s a company in Arizona that makes incense “bricks”, seven scents of trees normally found in the Western US(with the exception of hickory). They literally smell like you are burning logs of a tree right in front of you.

  6. Daniel says:

    I’m glad to meet someone who is going on his own path trying to find the right, without giving it up but trying again and again. Have a great new summer. Daniel

    • Skyllaros says:

      Hi Daniel,

      Glad to make your acquaintance! Thank you very much. Best of luck to you on your own path, and may you have a wonderful summer as well!

  7. Rufus Opus says:

    I’m personally a firm believer that there is nothing that we experience that is beyond the scope of influence by magic.

    That said, there’s some shit you just have to wade through, and forget about even bleaching the clothes you were wearing at the time, just throw ’em away, they’re done.

    In a way, I’m disappointed that you suffered in spite of your initial good results. I’d like to think some people can go through the Solar Initiations without haivng their lives go to hell.

    But, as I said in the forum, it’s all ultimately for the good, in a way you don’t appreciate until it’s over. Nothing burns that matters. God, writing that, it’s so trite. But true, I promise. This too shall pass. What you end up with is amazing.

  8. Anne says:

    Something similar happened to me as of this last week, and I’m still limping from it. What I took from it was ‘how not to make a light-bulb,’ so to speak. Those who don’t reach out for the flame never learn of it’s heat – hope that makes sense.

  9. Pingback: The Holy Guardian Angel? | Journey Through The Obsidian Dream

Leave a comment